Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Review ~ The Daughter of Highland Hall by Carrie Turansky

WaterBrook Multnomah, Oct. 2014
About the Book
  

Fans of Downton Abbey, Jane Eyre, and Pride & Prejudice will enjoy this pure and inspiring romance taking place in Edwardian England amid a clash of cultures and changing times.

Eighteen-year-old Katherine Ramsey travels to London with her family to make her debut into society and hopefully find her future husband. Her overbearing aunt insists she must secure a proposal from a wealthy young man who is in line to inherit his father’s title and estate. But Katherine questions her aunt’s plans when she gets to know Jonathan Foster, a handsome medical student and strong Christian who is determined to protect the poor and vulnerable in London’s East End. When a family scandal puts a damper on Katherine’s hopes for the season, she has time to volunteer with Jonathan, caring for children in one of London’s poorest areas, and romance blossoms. Katherine’s faith grows and she begins to envision a different future with Jonathan. But when Katherine’s work in the East End puts her in danger, Jonathan distances himself from Katherine to protect her. A wealthy suitor reappears, and Katherine must choose which path to follow.
 
My Review


The Daughter of Highland Hall is the second book in the Edwardian Brides series and from beginning to end, I felt as if I was part of the Ramsey family. This is one of my favorite books so far this year!  In fact, the opening scene where Kate is learning to curtsy, and Jonathan sees her, is one of the most delightful I have read in a long time.  


Carrie Turansky’s research into the Edwardian Era shines as brightly as freshly polished silver. The scenery, the language, the dress and etiquette all blend beautifully within the walls of Highland Hall. This story reads like a classic novel with its delicate blend of mystery, intrigue and romance.

If you enjoy Historical fiction, I believe you will be enthralled with this latest novel in The Edwardian Brides series. I know I completely enjoyed the hours I spent in a Downton Abbey like atmosphere. There are funny moments that will have you chuckling and serious moments that will draw upon your heartstrings.  But the highlight of the story for me is that of Kate’s faith journey. It is superbly written and executed!

I want to thank the author for providing me with an ARC in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation has been received.
 

If you choose to order a copy using the link below, I make a small commission on the sale of the book.




6 comments:

  1. Hi Anne, I recently listened to the Daughter of Highland Hall as an audio book, and that was a fun treat. Even though I knew the story so well, hearing it read aloud is a different experience. Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing this review with your friends and followers!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. How exciting that it is already out on audio, Carrie! I didn't know that, or I would have mentioned it. Thank you for the best story yet in the Edwardian Brides series. I am REALLY looking forward to the next book :)

      Delete
  2. Ooooh, this sounds like a delightful read! I will have to check out the first book as well.

    I always appreciate your reviews, Anne, becuase I know I can trust you and you have great insight. Hugs!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Stephanie, It is fantastic! I know you would enjoy this one. Thanks for letting me know that you trust my reviews. That's my goal. I am very choosy about my books and recommendations. :)

      Hugs back at ya'!

      Delete
  3. This looks like one I would definitely enjoy. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Carol, It's a great book! I'm looking forward to the third one next year.

      Delete

I am so delighted that you've taken time to come by and comment. Blessings for a joy-filled day!

1 Corinthians 1:3 ~ Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.